Polarity Technologies has learned from Social Media Today that Facebook is updating its Group Settings. Until recently, it was easy for a group to change from Private to Public. However, after the latest updates this will no longer be possible.
Once a group goes Private, it cannot go back to Public. As we have been informed, the reason that Facebook is doing this is to protect group users from unintended exposure.
According to Social Media Today, “Facebook has allowed groups with fewer than 5,000 members to switch their privacy setting once every 28 days, but the new change will mean that once a group is switched to ‘private’, there’ll be no going back.”
It’s worth mentioning that in the following weeks, if a group manager switches the group from Public to Private, she/he’ll have 72 hours to reverse the move, otherwise the group will stay Private permanently.